Beginners luck? The Seriously good Cinnamon Brioche

Growing up I was taught ‘good things take time’ – so when I craved some cinnamonny goodness I made sure I looked up the most time-consuming recipe. I was desperate for a jackpot recipe. I ended up with 4 serious time-wasting recipes and managed to tweek them to my liking. The dough could have been a bit more fluffy – nothing a bit more butter won’t do and I think they could have been taken out a good 5 minutes earlier – but these are all small matters. What I ended up with was good enough for me. 24 pinwheels of cinnamon gooeyness.

We have < 12 left and it hasn’t even made the 12 hour mark. I ate so many I couldn’t stomach dinner until around 9pm. My only suggestions to making this recipe is: Have patience, let the dough do its thing resting – be prepared to sacrifice at least 3 hours on a coldish winter day for this.

Ingredients:

  • 1. 5 cups of milk
  • 2 tsp dried yeast
  • 1/3 cup of warm water
  • 2 egg yolks, at room temperature, beaten
  • 5 cups of plain flour, plus (a lot) extra for dusting
  • 1 teaspoons of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil
  • 150 gm butter, diced and slightly softened, plus extra for greasing

20110806-013038.jpg
.

20110806-013245.jpg

  1. Heat milk in a small saucepan, stir to prevent burning – don’t let it boil. Add in the 1/2 cup of sugar 1/2 teaspoon of salt and the oil. Set aside and cool.
  2. Add the teaspoon of sugar to the water and add yeast – stand for 10 minutes and then stir to dissolve. Combine with the now cooled luke warm milk mixture and transfer into a mixer bowl. Add the beaten eggs and half to 2/3 the flour to form a sticky dough. Add in half the diced up butter chunks, mix lightly then add in the rest of the flour in.
  3. Now either take it out and knead it until smooth or continue with the dough hook attachment until the dough is smooth and separates from the bowl (more flour is needed).
  4. Oil a bowl and place the dough in to rest covered (2-3 hours in the winter) – wait till it doubles in size.
  5. Punch out the air – lightly knead a few times. Divide into two portions and roll them into rectangles (1cm in thickness). Lightly butter with softened butter and sprinkle a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, clove and brown sugar leaving a small gap at one end.
  6. Roll. It’s important to roll semi-tightly to allow for the dough to expand but also prevent all the sugar falling out when you initially cut/ transfer the dough.
  7. Place into a slightly oiled square tin or into buttered muffin tins and leave for another 30 minutes or so (uncovered).
  8. Pre heat your oven to 170 (I set mine to 180 but I reckon it was a tad high — so I’m taking a guess here with the 170, might pay to keep an eye on it toward the end…) and bake for 30 minutes.
I didn’t glaze these – I’m not a fan of sugar glazes on a cinnamon brioche – its sweet enough for me – but feel free to add and tell me how it goes! 🙂 Hope you all enjoy this simple recipe! It may look like many steps but trust me the hardest part is the waiting.
.
Enjoy!
.

20110806-013843.jpg

—-
PS: apparently you can refrigerate the dough before you bake it (after you cut it up / before that 30 minute in pan proofing) for extra flavor enrichment / breakfast. Sounds interesting + an awesome trick for instant cinnamon bun craving fixtures – I keen to give freezing a go as well, will update if I do.
.
– Posted by L –

.

Comments
One Response to “Beginners luck? The Seriously good Cinnamon Brioche”
  1. Wah oh my gosh these look good. Such a pro baker you are~

Leave a Reply

