Olaf Artisan Bakery – a Carbolicious treat

It’s the new kid on the (Eden) block, located on the tip of Stokes Road – where it intersects with Mt Eden Road, this beautifully open plan cafe, with the exposed kitchens, raised ceilings, and warm natural lighting is the place to be for ones casual Saturday catch up. With a mouth-watering cabinet selection and an overly cursive chalk board menu – Olaf has quickly become the third wheel member of the Eden village cafe scene.

Having already been once before and tried their cabinet sammies (venison sandwich – which was a little under seasoned for me) I opted for the potato leek rocket and Danish feta soup from their kitchen menu. Smooth, not overly thick and gluggy, seasoned well and creamy -so creammmy, it was a delight to the senses. The bread was carby and chewy – such perfection. Lily, Sarah and Steph had the scrambled eggs on toast, onion soup and pecan tart. Comments on each: under-seasoned eggs but amazing bread, not enough cheese for the onion soup crouton toast, and overly buttered pecan tart. Such fussy food queens they are 🙂

.

.

So I guess I was just lucky? Or maybe those are the areas for more growth and improvement. Either way – I thoroughly enjoyed my soup and will be back to sample more. And when I do, I think I’ll grab a few sourdough rye loafs with me – nothing quite like a chilled homemade Sunday brunch with heavenly bread.

.. 

Olaf Artisan Bakery

Opening hours

  • Monday – Friday: 7am-6pm
  • Weekends: 8am- 5pm

 

-Posted by L-

Leave a Reply

